Bricking – I Can Put it Off No Longer

Finally, I get past the intimidation of beginning the brick, and I just start.  Work begins at the south wall because it’s the least visible; I’m figuring my brick laying skill would improve as I progress.  Aiming for 3/8″ of mortar between bricks both horizontally and vertically, the course stretched from east to west pefectly, with no bricks needing to be cut – a blessing.  However, something is out of whack, because as I move up in courses, I eventually need to cut a partial brick to fill the row.

Striking the joints creates that finished look for the wall.  The mortar beneath the uppermost bricks in the above image hasn’t yet been hit with the strike tool.  The mortar consistency needs to set up enough that it will smooth and compact when the tools hits it, and at the moment, it is too wet (typically for this project about 30 minutes after being set in place).

Comments
One Response to “Bricking – I Can Put it Off No Longer”
  1. Mandy says:

    looking good bro….:) keep up the good work. I must be honest though…I kind of liked it pre-brick the best…although I know it’s not very practical in terms of keeping things dry. The form/proportions are really nice though. Can’t wait to see it in person.

Leave a comment